Whitehead Prize

The Whitehead Prize was established in 2015 memory of Anthony Whitehead, a great friend of the branch and of classics.  It is awarded to students (sixth-formers, undergraduate or postgraduate) who have successfully endeavoured to promote classics in the community. If you would like to make a nomination, please contact our secretary, Kat Mawford.

This year’s prize was jointly awarded to Theo Critchley and Ghazzal Maydanchi after their great success in teaching Latin at Mauldeth Road Primary School.  Whilst still in sixth form themselves, they managed and inspired a class of students and also successfully trained teachers in the language.  Commendations were also given to Leah Lovelady for her inspirational involvement with Greek tragic drama and to Claire Andrews for her work in setting up the Manchester Metropolitan University Ancient History Society, for directing its involvement in charity work and for organising a number of trips and other events.

Previous winners

2015: Matt Ingham